one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

we should be mavericks; we should practice doing the extraordinary

Ubud, Bali 2011

How does one go about being extraordinary? Well, we can start by being different than we were yesterday. As long as we continue to live in our pasts, as Dr. Joe Dispenza describes in his book, Breaking the Habit of Being Yourself, we will not and cannot create the future we desire.

Even those who we may already consider “extraordinary” are constantly evolving. Look at Richard Branson, Jay-Z, Steve Jobs, Oprah, a few off the top of my head. Actors turned directors, Penny Marshall, Tina Fey, and Jodie Foster, again, just to name a few.

With the exception of Jodie Foster, who was a child actor, all the other folks I’ve mentioned have talked or written extensively about their very “ordinary” beginnings. In fact, the only thing different about them was that they were able to see a future full of possibilities and were willing enough to take risks.

I have studied, read and watched extraordinary people my entire life. I used to love watching “Inside the Actors Studio” or “Behind the Music.” I prefer autobiographies and memoirs over fiction any day. And I will watch interviews and documentaries till the cows come home. I have always been fascinated by what “it takes” or what makes “them” so different.

What have I found?

People don’t become extraordinary overnight. They do simple stuff, like say “yes” more. They seek out mentors and aren’t afraid to ask for help. They aren’t rigid in their thinking. They don’t waste time on mindless things. They study and/or surround themselves with other extraordinary people. And most importantly, they aren’t afraid to dream.

Remember, Malcolm Gladwell’s 10,000-hour-rule begins with just one hour.

Also in Outliers, Gladwell describes the importance of being at the right time and place, which some refer to as luck or chance. I see it as: “Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

For many of us, it is just making the damn decision.

What are you willing to ask for? Who are you willing to become?

As for breaking the habit of being myself, I recently started waking up early in the mornings to work out, something I haven’t done since “Katfight” circa 2010 (and then I was paid for it). In just a few short weeks, I have noticed a huge difference in my productivity, my energy, and my sleep patterns. I don’t have the I-work-from-home-and-slept-too-late-guilts anymore, I don’t stay up until the wee hours of the night because I didn’t feel productive enough throughout the day, and I have better workouts with more focus and energy in the morning.

And all I did was change one measly thing: the time of day in which I worked out.

I leave you with this: What one thing will you do today to start breaking the habit of being yourself? What does an extraordinary you look like? How would you act? What would you have the courage enough to do? Who would you be with others? Take note. We’ll build on that.

#Onward extraordinarily so

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

