one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

the serenity prayer – remix

*via fineartamerica.com

“Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

I heard this prayer read in an audio book last night; Rhonda Byrne’s new one: Hero.

It dawned on me that it’s the same prayer on my mother’s tombstone, and for as many times as I’ve read it, it has never resonated like it did yesterday.

Grant me the peace to accept the things I cannot change. We often think of these “things” as the big stuff: death, sickness, divorce, lack of money/job, etc. But what I’d like to add are the everyday things: red lights, traffic, rain, parking tickets, flat tires, toxic people, etc. Let them go too! You have much bigger fish to fry if you’re on your way to living happier and dreaming bigger. Sadly, the bigger things are often not what’s holding us back, it is the thousand little things that we let pile up that get our panties all in a bunch and keep us from our own greatness.

Grant me the courage to change the things I can. We all could use a little courage … and willingness, I should add, and while we’re at it … let’s let go of the guilt asking for it. Sure, we may, in comparison, lead really rich lives, but if we’re not challenging ourselves everyday in one way shape or form, we have a tendency to feel emotionally or spiritually stagnant. Abundance is all around us, and just like electricity, you can plug in any time you need, and voila! Start with the willingness to change and you might be surprised how the courage just shows up.

Grant me the wisdom to know the difference.  Aha! We are so good at settling for what we have and feeling guilty for asking for more that we can no longer decipher what is ours to shake up. Job, school, financial situations, health, are just a few of those commonly mistaken as our destiny. We have more options now than we’ve ever had, which can be daunting I know. Take note of the areas in your life in which you often complain about … I bet you have more control than you think.

I leave you with this: Even if you’re not a God person, you can say this prayer each time you need to be reminded to let go OR to move forward. What in your life right now have you been accepting as “it is what it is” that you can change? Are you willing?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

