one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Just dance.

*skip to 3:40 for the meat and potatoes

I have always been fascinated by comedians. I used to watch Half Hour Comedy Hour on VH1 with my brothers. And all sorts of inappropriate late night comedy specials: Bill Murray, Eddie Murphy, Arsenio Hall, Rosie O’Donnell, to name a few. I couldn’t think of anything more powerful in the world than making someone else laugh, much less a whole audience of people.

I have always thought that it must take a heck of a lot of guts to get up there and work through your material in front of a live audience. For this, I have always held a deep respect for comedians. I used to joke, in fact, that I wanted to try comedy one day; mostly because the thought terrifies me tremendously, and like roller coasters, which I’m not a fan of, screaming like a school girl and shi-shi-ing my pants sounds like something I should not only wait in line for, but also pay for with my hard earned allowance.

I love Ellen. I think she’s hilarious, she’s infectious, and she’s even a Cover Girl. Especially, I love her story. She had a vision and she worked on any stage that would have her until she got there. In the end it was honesty and integrity that made her the household name she is today. Dancing, of course, the whole way to the top;)

“Find out who you are and figure out what you believe in. Even if it’s different from what your neighbors believe in and different from what your parents believe in. Stay true to yourself. Have your own opinion. Don’t worry about what people say about you or think about you. Let the naysayers nay. They will eventually grow tired of naying.” -ellen

I leave you with this: What kind of “coming out” could you have that would free you in some way? Have you held onto something for a long time that could be blocking you from moving forward? In the next 48 hours, I challenge you to “come out” to at least one person. Even if it’s something you might deem as silly.

Here, I’ll go first:

“In third grade, I stole my cousin’s shoes and hid them so she’d get in trouble and everyone would see her for the airhead she was. Then, miraculously, I’d always find them and save the day.”

Phew!!

I feel better.

OK. Now it’s your turn. Start there if you have to. And then get a little older and maybe a little more serious.

You never know what those “truths” we harbor may be holding us back from.

And when you’re done.

JUST DANCE!

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

