one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

What it means to Dare Greatly

*Christmas present, 2013;)

Daring Greatly, Brene Brown’s 2012 bestseller, has been on my “to read” list since late last year. The list is sizable–I wish I could read faster–thank goodness for YouTube and TedTalks and all the other sources in which I gather tidbits of these awesome folks while their books sit on my well-intended “to read” list.

So far I’ve read the introduction and I’m already stoked.

Originally, I thought “Daring Greatly” was something either Brown or her publisher coined. Come to find out, according to the introduction, the phrase is derived from a Theodore Roosevelt speech, “Citizenship in a Republic,” delivered in 1910. This is the passage that made the speech famous:

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better.

The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again,

because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause;

who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly…”

The majority of Brown’s work revolves around vulnerability. If you’ve been following TYOMD, you’ve probably heard me mention that five ‘r twelve times, at least.

Good ol’ Teddy seems to have many thoughts on the matter himself. Here’s one more for the vault:

“Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure… than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.”

There’s that word again: Dare – to have the courage to do something.

I love that. In case you haven’t noticed. That’s what we’re all about here at TYOMD: Daring.

Although daring someone to do something has a negative connotation, with all the mischief and stupidity usually surrounding such acts, the core is the challenge and the rest is bearing witness.

So with every bit of those positive intentions, I am daring you to discover your awesome. To recognize your patterns, mess up your routines, make big crazy goals and believe in dreams; both yours and mine and all of us willing to be vulnerable enough to go after them.

And as I’ve always done, with my personal training clients in the past, I would never challenge them with something that I haven’t done or wasn’t willing to do myself. They jokingly called me “the people’s trainer,” because I’d sweat, curse and cry right along with them. And that’s my vision here. It might not always be pretty, but it will be honest. And one thing I know for certain; we’ll all be better for having dared to do so.

I leave you with this: In the next 48 hours, write down your no-bullshit New Year’s resolution. And remember, don’t write it based on who you are today, write it based on who you will be. Do us all a favor, will ya; Dare Greatly;)

Much Love,

kat

Also, beware: TYOMD will be undergoing some construction in the next few days to get ready for the official January 1 launch. Keep your eyes out for our brand new look in the coming days.

And as always, thanks for tuning in. Can’t wait to hear what you have up your sleeves for this year. Bring it, 2014!

More on Brene Brown: Drop in on a dear cousin’s blog Grassoil by Molly Field. She’s finishing up 30-days of Brown where she broke down 30 delicious quotes by our sister-friend herself.

2 Responses to “What it means to Dare Greatly”

  1. Jennifer Dockeray muniz

    I bought the same book for my husband! I know it’s the start of an awesome 2014. We have giant plans to just make it amazing.

    Love the blog. Keep it up woman! My mom says hi 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

