one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

God is Not Your Bitch

I have inundated myself with the personal development powerhouse, Hayhouse, this weekend with their new webinar series. I’m juiced up on about nine hours worth of audio and so far the best quote has been (Mind Over Medicine)’s Lissa Rankin’s “God is Not Your Bitch.”

She made this in reference to the Law of Attraction, and I totally agree. Yes, I am a big fan of the LOA, but I’m also aware that there are many other forces of nature going on at once. The LOA for me is often the first step: having the guts to ask for something can be the biggest and most difficult challenge for some, but it’s certainly not the only step. We can visualize till the cows come home, yet if we don’t take any action, we’re making it awfully difficult for our dreams to be delivered to our doorstep.

In my own Law of Attraction practice, I put what I can see for my future out there–absolutely. Yet, I should mention, these are things that my intuition has already guided me towards in one way or another. And, in case it’s not obvious, that doesn’t include a Benz. They already feel right in my body, a sign that they are aligned with what I believe is my highest good.

But then I do what Rankin describes–I surrender. Because that’s where people seem to get the most caught up. When it doesn’t look exactly as they’d planned.

… Well, I planned on marrying my fourth grade boyfriend, Tommy Dimeo, and, although I’m sure he turned out great, I’m fairly stoked that wish went politely ignored.

Trust.

Rankin went on to use a sperm and the egg metaphor, which I loved. It’s true, we spend far too much time “sperming” our way through our to-do lists and our goal projections and our vision boards. She said, and I concur, that many of us need to spend much more of our time being eggy. Receive. Welcome. Nurture.

Isn’t that perfect?

This really resonated with me. So much so, that after hearing that, I’ve decided to move my mediation up earlier in the day. I’m often rather spermy in the morning (weird, I never thought I’d say that) with emails, articles and videos–action, action, action. It’s funny, I’d been feeling, for some time now, that yoga and meditation would be a yummier way to start my day, but my spermy brain just couldn’t seem to resist the go, go, go. Yet, receiving, welcoming, and nurturing IS action, I will remind myself. I’ll have to report back, but I imagine it will also supercharge creativity.

Another author interview I really enjoyed today was with Kris Carr (Crazy Sexy Cancer) and Danielle LaPorte. I wanted to share this one with you because, as the whole webinar is about “New Year, New You,” each author seems to have a different take on resolutions and goals, and LaPorte’s “core desire feelings” fit perfectly into what I have shared both with my clients and you.

For instance, many of my clients come to me with no idea what their passions are. They don’t want to set goals because they can’t even picture where they want to be or what they want to do. They have lots of talents and would be happy doing many things. It just so happens, I learned this afternoon, that LaPorte has a similar system to mine, yet with a much jazzier name: core desire feelings. AKA, discovering your inner egg.

This, in case there’re any questions, focus’ on the feelings alone–not the goal. For instance, if your goal is to lose weight, you can re-frame it with how you want to feel instead; ie strong, sexy, confident. This takes out the ‘how” altogether. There is nothing to get upset about when it doesn’t go exactly your way. You can’t even get annoyed by it feeling like YET another thing you have to do. It’s just feelings! And this can be done for career, relationships, you name it. Also, as if it couldn’t get better, once you come up with all your adjectives (feelings), you can use them to create your own mantra!

I’m all over this. I’m gonna go back through my Resolution Rewind and pull out my own set of feelings. I love a good mantra, especially one of my own making;)

I snagged this gem from the “New Year, New You” Roz Savage interview (first woman to row solo across the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans): “We owe it not just to ourselves, but to the evolution of the collective consciousness to be the grandest version of the greatest vision of ourselves; don’t be afraid to dream big. It’s amazing what you can achieve when just set a very clear intention, hold that vision on a daily basis and just think what can I do everyday to get a little bit closer to that goal.” -Roz Savage borrowing from Neal Donald Walsh

I leave you with this: Where in your life can you be more eggy? How can you surrender? Can you transform your goals into “core desire feelings?” What is your new mantra?

#Onward as eggs

Much Love,

kat

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

