one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Just Keep Moving Forward

“If you can’t fly than run, if you can’t run than walk, if you can’t walk than crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” mlk, jr.

“And there were days when I crawled, believe you me. In some ways, I felt like a dying patient who’d been given a new lease on life. I would be foolish not to feel blessed by even a bug bite. Besides, I never doubted that I should live this life for the both of us, Mom and I, that is. I mean, if I could somehow manifest the love that she encompassed and match it with my own—what couldn’t we accomplish?

I suppose if it weren’t for stifling fear and insuperable roadblocks I might have already been there, but then again, if it weren’t for those crippling things, what would I have conquered? I truly believe that one can only attain glimpses of enlightenment when they themselves have come to know deep, dubious darkness. Befriending the night is the most sincere way to greet the morning and its harbored mysteries.

If you ask, you shall receive. Sometimes, not in so many words, perhaps instead, a distant path cleared of thorns, but when God gives you a reason, son, you better be ready to step up to the gosh dern plate.

Come hell or high water, as Gma would say.” –from I Think I’ll Make It

I have such respect for Dr. King, a man of immeasurable passion and purpose. As I researched quotes for the last chapter of my book, I was thrilled to find this one [above] by MLK; I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect parallel to how I had healed–one stubborn foot in front of the other.

And it had been great leaders and teachers like King, who had prevailed over what seemed like impossible odds, that felt like the light at the end of a long, lonely tunnel for me.

Lessons I had begun to learn intuitively had already been spoken in a different context: “Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” -mlk, jr. And those messages affirmed I was on the right road–allowing me to trust the next step.

MLK ‘s passion was so convincing and contagious that when he announced, “I have a dream,” he made others believe in theirs. If I could only tap into a fraction of that source of courage and unwavering belief, I’d be honored to walk the same path. Because the truth is, I too have a dream, and my highest of hopes is that it will ignite you to find yours.

I leave you with this: If you’ve never seen this or haven’t watched it in a while, do tune in. He was a remarkable man, with extraordinary courage, and the more we know about him, the better we’ll be.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

