one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

The Whole Not Getting What You Want Thing

The last few weeks have been sort of a whirlwind of random opportunities that have presented themselves to me. Two were brand new gyms where I could continue my teaching, coaching and workshop practices. In that way, not so random; they just so happen to be tiny boutique studios that I would have missed altogether had the opportunity not come my way.

The other was a part-time writing position for a brand new start-up with some really awesome intentions and a great business plan. I sent in a video for round one of the interviews. Round two was an edit test, which I also passed with flying colors. And lastly was the in-person group interview that I was certain I’d killed.

Surely, the bowtie rocked it.

By the time I had left the building, I was not only convinced that I’d gotten the job, but that it would be a great place to learn, a terrific spot to hone my interpersonal skills, public speaking, video and technology, and more.

The next morning I hung by my email only to get a quick sucker punch as I glimpsed the “Thank You” subject on the screen of my iphone, where I stood at my stove preparing tea.

I just stared at it. I knew what it meant, but I wasn’t ready to hear it.

I get it, Universe. It was a great experience nonetheless, blah, blah.

You’re right. It would have likely taken me away from the direction I’m heading on my own. Yes. In a way, it confirmed that I don’t need the distractions right now, that I have begun to build my own start-up and putting loads of time and energy into someone else’s big plans will only defer my own.

Still, it hurt. My ego was bruised. How could they say no to the bowtie?

I was short with Elisa on the phone. I wasn’t ready to tell her. We had talked up the synchronicity of everything so much that I was afraid to disappoint her too.

When she walked in the door she knew something was up and I immediately went in for the shoulder to whimper out my sad tale.

“That’s OK, babe. It just wasn’t meant for you.”

“I know,” I said through a few tears of defeat.

She rubbed my back and let me whimper for about 30 seconds more and then, before I said I was done, because I usually get to decide those things, she had music going and was dancing around the living room, holding out her hand with that sweet, loving smile.

Needless to say, I was over it. The Universe was right. Elisa was right. Deep down, beneath the ego … I knew what was right.

Trust. It always comes down to trust. It will all unfold exactly as it should, and this was just a great reminder to roll with the punches and keep doing my thang;)

I leave you with this: Acceptance is a beautiful thing, what reality are you resisting of which you might be able to let go? One more thing, dangle as many carrots as you can, just don’t try to control who does the biting. #tyomd (tweetable)

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

PS … this is the company, if you’re curious. They’re actually pretty great. http://www.overture.me

PSS … Elisa and I just launched our Spring Cleaning: Mind Body Sould 6-Week Online Course. It is the most creative and comprehensive course we’ve put out yet, so be sure to check it.

2 Responses to “The Whole Not Getting What You Want Thing”

  1. Grass Oil by Molly Field

    Love you, Kat. It’s hard to accept these things. As Capote said, “More tears have been shed over answered prayers than unanswered prayers” or something to that effect… We see it best later. Trust. It’s earned for a reason.

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      Hey Molly, thanks for tuning in. I meant to reply to this days ago. Yes, it stung a bit, but I have lots of evidence in my past that proves plenty of peeps upstairs got my back;) So, you’re right. Trust. I am very grateful for unanswered prayers. They have taught me that I have no idea what I’m doing, so best to leave the driving to the professionals. xoxo

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

