one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder

In an effort to bring you the best interview, and to diversify from my gf, Marie Forleo (whom I feel like I’m stalking too much lately), AND to get you a clip under the TYOMD 10-minute rule, I scoured the interwebs for Thrive vids this morning, but this was the finest in all the land, so just watch it in double time if you have to –my new fave life hack–it’s worth it.

In all this “research,” I learned a ton more about a woman I think we can all say we admire: Arianna Huffington. Media mogul, mom, meditator, world wide women’s advocate, and third metric evangelist.

She’s stoic and beautiful and badass and bold, and she can’t keep up with her email like the rest of us.

I’m really looking forward to reading this book and bringing you some of the gems that it promises. Well-being, wisdom, wonder, and giving make up the four pillars that are the third metric.

First metric being money, second: power, Huffington expresses that those two legs [think stool] just aren’t enough to stand on. #tyomd #thirdmetric (tweetable)

In this interview with Ellen (6 min.), Huffington advises us jokingly to “sleep our way to the top.” Based on her own experience and all the studies she’s read on sleep (to include data in the book), Huffington installed two nap rooms in Post headquarters for employees to recharge. I’m a big fan of the joke she makes about the pair walking out of the nap room, “If that’s what it takes to recharge, than go for it.” (I love Europeans.)

She also suggests at least five minutes a day of daily meditation. PS … she’s not the only mogul who has come out this year as being a meditator. #justsayin

Yes, even media rockstar Arianna Huffington has an obnoxious roommate in her head, telling her she’s not good enough, that needs to be shushed.

I love the “don’t miss the moment” piece. Often times we are so far ahead of ourselves in our thoughts and even our stresses that we lose the present moment, not only in our lives but in the lives of loved ones around us. According to Huffington, this was an adage from her mother, whom I feel like I know in reading Arianna’s sister’s memoir, Unbinding the Heart. PS … Agapi Stassinopolis is also deliciously delightful. Good genes!

I can’t wait to read this book. I hope you do too, because as you know, here at TYOMD, we’re obsessed with learning from the best. If your stack of books is as tall as mine, never fear, the TYOMD cliff-note version will be on its way shortly.

In the meantime, check out these vids. Here’s the other half of the Ellen interview (3 min.) if you’re curious.

I leave you with this: Go to bed 1/2 hour earlier tonight. No work or emails one hour before bed. Try instead to get through that stack of books that’s been collecting dust for a while now. I’m on it too. We shall THRIVE together.

#Onward

Much Love,

Kat

PS … Another way to Thrive, as I’m sure Arianna would agree, is by taking my upcoming course Spring Cleaning: Mind, Body, Soul a 6-week online course with my other beautiful gf, Elisa Haggarty of Culinary Farmacy. The course begins a week from today and spots are limited, so get on over and check it out. BOOM!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

