one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Thrive NYC: Take Two

Wow. What another huge day! There were so many great speakers, some old faves and some new voices (well, at least new to me). How had I not been properly introduced to Panache Desai until today? I thought I knew everybody who has graced O’s Super Soul Sunday couch; I’m ashamed of myself.

I felt so guilty, in fact, I bought his new book, Discovering Your Soul Signature, which brings the weight of my tote with A Course in Miracles (train reading), Thrive, The Charge (in case I ran into Brendon Burchard again), my laptop, every charger I own, and, of course, a pair of Beats By Dre to 97 1/2 lbs.

Needless to say, hustling the Manhattan commute and climbing the stairs to the comp-tickets balcony, I got my workout in;)

In the coming weeks, I will highlight some of my favorite speakers one-by-one: Emilie Brzezinski, Brad Meltzer, Charles Best, to name a few. In the meantime, I’d love to chat up a few of what I consider the best tenants of Thrive and why this event meant so much to me.

First of all, I just adore Arianna Huffington. As I followed her around last night, like a lost puppy, trying to get YOUR copy of Thrive autographed, I watched her stop and pause with people, kiss both their cheeks, and look them in the eye, totally present; a rare sight at these events with groupies swarming about. Plus, I’m a sucker for accents, especially those that address everyone as “Darling.”

Despite Thrive bringing the conversation of meditation and mindfulness to the masses, for real this time, it also offers some really great nuggets on letting go, compassion, self care, gratitude, passion/purpose, personal connection, kindness and giving.

On her tour, Huffington has outed several previously closeted meditators; business bigwigs like Rupert Murdoch to everyone’s favorite talk show host, Ellen Degeneres.

Suddenly, I’m not so woo-woo, huh?

I love love love Huffington’s approach to completing a project by dropping it. She uses learning to ski and studying German as the two projects she completed by dropping them. In her honor, I’m going to do just that with several books I haven’t finished yet that clearly aren’t holding my attention and emails I archive for later read in folders that I constantly worry are bulging at the seams.

Brilliant!

The “secure your oxygen mask before anyone else’s”-theme was a running throughout the book. At home, at work, you are no good to anybody if you are not first good to yourself. Dropping judgement of oneself as the first step to a compassionate and kind relationship with the world.

Also, sleep! Huffington has enlightened me on the sleep evangelism. I have taken more naps in the past month after reading this book, than I have in years. No guilt. And guess what? My stomach is flatter. I shit you not. I won’t get into the science of hormones and stress on the body that sleep deprivation brings … that’s my lady’s department; Culinary Farmacy. I will say, though, that I haven’t felt robbed of time or stressed by missing a single thing.

“Sleep your way to the top!” as Huffington loves to say these days. And I’m right there with her.

For those of you who don’t know, gratitude saved my life, so Thrive is preaching to the choir on that one for me. BUT, again, I’m thrilled this conversation of thankfulness is being brought to the forefront. My Gratitude is the New Sexy FB Group is acquiring new members all the time, where folks share one thing they are grateful for each day; brightening up our news feeds, and always making us smile.

Passion/purpose/dreaming are a running current throughout the book and, as you know, dear to my heart. During the conference, I howled laughing at Arianna and Mika celebrating the women who had been fired recently and were on the way to rediscovering themselves and rebooting their career. The way they framed it was perfect.

The last pillar of the third metric, after Well-being, Wisdom, and Wonder, is Giving. With all the evidence that supports each of the pillars, there is just as much science behind giving, and boy is it worth it. It’s not just being grateful, it’s sharing gratitude. It’s also simple acts of kindness, hours spent volunteering, or sharing your gifts however you may; all of which bring the giver far more than they sought or expected.

This event was one of many proving that I’m on the right path. There were so many “Amen”-s I said to myself and “Mm- hmm”-s, nodding vigorously; I felt like I was in a soulful Southern Baptist church. I so see myself as having a voice in this conversation. I get teary-eyed just thinking about how much this work means to me and how much I have to share. I am so inspired by this work because it changed my perspective, it saved my life, and it brought me every bit of sunshine I never forget to give thanks for each day.

I’ll get there. I don’t know how; that’s all a part of the dream. But I know how right I feel in this space, in the transparency and vulnerability of authenticity. I am a teacher. I’ve always been a teacher. The more willing and attentive the classroom the better. I’m in full belief that I will thrive my way to my top, defining it as I go, living with well-being, wisdom, wonder, and generosity.

I leave you with this: Drop into our FB Group and get your gratitude on. Five minutes of meditation; that’s it, any way, shape, or form. Kindness begins with YOU; yeah, you. Then spread the wealth. Sharing is caring. BOOM!

#Onward, upward, and inward

Much Love,

kat

4 Responses to “Thrive NYC: Take Two”

  1. Anne Lene

    Great post, there’s some food for thought right there. I’m sure I’ll be mulling it over in my sleep, this being my last read, before going nitty nite 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      As always, thanks for reading! Appreciate your comments too. Most people comment on FB. I have to figure out how to combine the two;)

      Like

      Reply
      • Anne Lene

        If you figure it out, let me know, will you? Not that I have many following me on FB yet… But at least I can be prepared if and when it happens 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

