one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Creative Routines of Masterfully Creative People

creative routines *click link to check out Info We Trust

I saw this infographic a couple of weeks ago and saved it to the blog archive because I just love this concept of time management and peering into the routines of some of the greats.

As you will see when you get there, there is no one-size-fits-all routine. From artists, to writers, to innovators, or entrepreneurs, we are all making it up as we go along and working to find the routine that works right for us.

Activities that nurture and feed us are often not directly related to our “work”, but indirectly play a huge part in our success. As you check out the infographic, pay close attention to the hours spent away from primary work. I think there is a lot to be learned there.

In developing your own process, it is important to find that ever elusive balance. For me, it’s a constant practice. There is always a list of “shoulds”, but if the sun is shining on a perfect spring day … it can all wait a few hours, as far as I’m concerned.

I have a few non-negotiables, meditation, workout, healthy food, blog/work/chores, lots of water, and lots of love. No matter where I am or what I’m doing, my day revolves around those basics. If I could score some reading/study in there; awesome. If I can get some outside/nature time in there; bonus. I love the lifestyle that offers that flexibility, but it does require discipline.

Thank goodness I love what I do so discipline comes fairly easy;)

I heard a quote at the Thrive conference that went something like this: When you work for someone else, overtime is a pain; when you work for yourself, overtime is passion.

I’m pretty sure I slaughtered that, but you get the point.

Balance: choose your priorities and build around that.

I leave you with this: What are your priorities? How can you make some adjustments to your routine to further support and build around those?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

