one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Race day: 5 Lessons for business/life

First of all, I should preface by saying I am not a runner.

I run.

Sometimes I enjoy it, but only rare occasions … of the leap year variety.

Every once in a while: in the right weather, on the perfect day, at the right time–I get it. I feel like a real runner. I take in the runner’s high; I feel like Forest Gump; I am one with the road.

And then just like that, it’s gone. The next time I go searching–see ya! Straight deuces from an unrequited love.

Thankfully running races is different. I focus less on me and more on everyone else. Big difference–huge!

Running attracts all walks of life, every shape and size. And each time I run a race, I am inspired by the training story behind each runner, especially those new to racing.

The determination, the inner monologue, the blisters, the sweat, the outfit … it all intrigues me. No judgement. I’ve tried; it doesn’t work. You’re wrong more than you’re right. Trust me.

Today I ran with my father-in-law, a slower pace than I usually run, but I learned quite a bit actually.

#1. It’s harder to start and stop and start and stop.

I couldn’t help but make the business/entrepreneur connection. Momentum makes all the difference. You’re body, or in this case mind, has too much time to say, “Wait, what the hell is going on here?” Instead, I prefer to just get into rhythm or flow and just roll with it.

I guess, technically, it still requires some training and preparation, but perhaps a lot less than you’d think. On race day it’s “move it or lose it” time, no turning back. There’s a lot to be said for that.

Hence #2. Pick a date. Stick to your plan. And do it. What’s the worst that could happen?

Which brings us to #3. Feel the pain and do it anyway.

Yes, there is pain. Some pain is good. Too much pain, perhaps, not so good. If you’ve prepared yourself and laid the proper foundation, your body/mind can handle the pain. You’ve done the work. Powering through is not only possible, but worth it … and likely your best bet. Get to know your threshold; there’s a lot of ground to cover between plain stupid and silly wuss.

And, of course, #4. Always smile for the camera.

The cameras are strategically placed throughout the course. Once you’ve done one race you sort of know where they will be. And just like life/business looking good is half the battle. Even at your worst, there’s a lot to be said for digging deep and finding that glimpse of sunshine. Get there, sister. You’ll be much happier you did.

Lastly, #5. When the end is in sight, you better work.

I don’t care if you’ve run/walked the entire course, sprinting toward the finish line is not only totally acceptable, it’s applauded. When you have pictured that finish for 13.1 miles (plus training), you must take what is yours–that frickin moment–and not give a shit what anyone thinks. YOU manifested it. YOU created it. YOU earned it. Now get your hot lil’ buns over there and bask in your ever loving glory.

It doesn’t last long, unfortunately. Soon you’ll be looking ahead, on to the next goal. Yet you will have that bit of evidence. That which you thought you couldn’t do and, in fact, you did, right there in your back pocket. Keep adding to that collection. Build up your reservoir. You’ll need it in business. You’ll need it in badass. You’ll just need it, ok?

I leave you with this: Do you race? Train for pain? Or attend any big time race events? What have you learned by participating/watching? How did it change or solidify your outlook on life/business?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

PS … A lady today, shaped like a small “n”, shuffled all through that frickin course and all be damned if she almost beat us, like she did several others. She was focused; she was steady, and she never doubted for a second that she would finish that race.

She is the reason I race. Because she and so many others remind me: What the fuck am I complaining about?

Get’r done.

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

