one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Balance: No mirage necessary

We woke up this morning to Tahitian drums literally right outside our window. Elisa stretched her legs up to shake them out, like usual, but this time it was as if she woke up right on cue to the music.

What a way to start the day!

A hula dance party immediately ensued, which thankfully (for your sake) was not captured on the iphone.

The cool-down was a little Indo Board action that I made Elisa film. Although I’m a little rusty, it was a perfect metaphor for today’s post on balance.

I’d been thinking about this idea of balance on Kauai and then again yesterday while we were out on a trail run. It comes up all the time, really.

In some ways it’s what we’re all seeking, but like a mirage we never get there, and all along we doubt if it’s even real.

Balance can be work/life/family or mental/emotional steadiness, which constantly ebs and flows. We should be comfortable with the rolling hills and work to avoid as best our control the dramatic peaks and steep valleys.

There is also balance within a relationship. Elisa and I switch roles all the time.

Yesterday, on the trail, I just couldn’t keep it together. It was muddy; I felt like I was wearing a pair of ballerina slippers. I slipped and slid all over the place, nearly sending myself over the cliff, or flat on my face, or both, several times. I kept thinking that I might as well have buttered up a treadmill and then asked people to throw shit on it as I ran.

I pouted and sulked half the run, begrudgingly following along.

Elisa would stop ahead every few minutes to check if I was still alive, spouting off motivational quotes to lift me out of my funk.

She’d say, “Do you remember what you told me the other day?”

And then I’d be half upset that she used one of my lines on me.

I was grateful though for her patience, and understanding. I needed to hear what she was dishing out, even if they were recycled lines.

It was my turn to dip low. I knew I was being ridiculous, but I couldn’t pull myself out of it.

It lasted all of a half hour, and soon I was laughing at myself, but Elisa had been a big help.

We’re not perfect by any means, but if ever I’m feeling low, I’m glad I have her on my team;)

I leave you with this: What part of balance in your life is working? In what ways can you take those lessons and apply them to every other area? No mirage necessary. Get there.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

*And then I realized what all the drumming was for;)

 

4 Responses to “Balance: No mirage necessary”

  1. katiekate1784

    I love you both so much. I can’t wait to do my interpretive dance at your wedding…just kidding (not really) and glad you have eachother. the perfect pair, I love it. Also, Kathy those balancing skills are remarkable! way to go. onward!

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      Seester! Thanks for reading, as always. I can’t wait for the interpretive dance at our wedding. I will shi-shi myself;) see you soon!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Alan Seltzer

    Great post, Kat. We think about balance all the time. Hope this doesn’t sound like a downer because really it isn’t, but one balance issue I think about fairly often at my age (you guys are too young for it now!) is the balance between obsession with and denial of mortality. Striking that particular balance (which I’m not always able to do) is a positive force in life. A healthy awareness of mortality helps us appreciate what we have now and live more fully. Keep up the good work!

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      You are totally right. There are quite a few thought leaders who believe that having a keen sense of mortality is the only way to lead a healthy and fruitful life. Sometimes the best way for me to make sense of what appears to be life’s inequities, when tragedy strikes, or when young folks are taken from us too early, I am reminded of just how precious life is. I think we all are. It is a tricky balance though.

      I had a tidal wave dream the other night, and in it I accepted death and somehow wasn’t afraid. I woke up feeling very strong in my conviction. It was rather beautiful actually.

      Thanks for reading, Alan.

      Always appreciate the comments;)

      My love to Mary!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

