one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Back to the Books in Brooklyn

The one thing that I have missed dearly our whole trip is books. Traveling with a 25 lb. A Course in Miracles doesn’t leave much room for anything else. Not that I read much of anything hard copy anymore. I did read from CIM daily, yet since each exercise is to be conducted one day at a time–it’s a year-long companion packed with 365 lessons–20 pages was about as far as I got.

Elisa was in charge of the radio for 99.9% of the trip, given that I’ve been designated the primary driver in our relationship for some reason. Which reminds me, I should have told my nephew, Haden, that I’m the designated driver. That would have thrown him for a loop. For the last three weeks he’s been looking for clues, scratching his head, trying to figure out which one of us is the man, as he puts it. (Not that I believe that only men are the drivers, but this is the level of his thinking.)

Elisa did three pull-ups the other day at the end of a workout, and I only did two. He jumped right up from his seat exclaiming, “Aha, Auntie Lee is the man! She’s stronger.”

I couldn’t tell which part of that statement offended me more;)

I didn’t bother arguing. He’s at the stage where there really is no arguing. And there’s nothing more than I hate than losing an argument with an eight-year-old.

Anyway, back to the car and the music bit–I’ve been same-six-songs and crappy remixes spent over the last few weeks, pining for my audiobooks like a nerdy hermit kid forced to play outside. I’m really excited to get back into flow with my daily learning fix. Not that experience isn’t a marvelous education, but I do love my books.

Speaking of learning, I also had big intentions to finish my two edX courses I began early summer, and that didn’t happen either, so if anyone’s looking for me I’ll be at my desk in Brooklyn, losing my tan.

When some of my clients struggle with big questions over passion and purpose, I always ask, “What do you read? What are you drawn to in your spare time? What can you get lost in and forget about dinner? What would you miss if it was taken away?

I use myself as an example: I eat up anything I can get my hands on in my field. I write about it. I test it out. I live it.

Now, had you asked me ten years ago what my passion was, I would have looked at you blankly, and likely cried. But looking back, it totally makes sense. I was an advertising major whose electives were always psych classes. I’ve been fascinated by underdogs and success stories and dreamers and entrepreneurs since I was young, watching shows like Inside the Actors Studio, Behind the Music, stand-up comics, the making of … well, anything, Mr. Wizard (I always wanted to be an inventor/scientist), late night infomercials, you name it.

One of my first jobs at fourteen was an ice-hockey/skating instructor for the three-to-nine-year-olds. And in one way or another I’ve been teaching/coaching ever since.

So you might say, “Duh! How did you not know?”

Because hindsight is always 20/20, of course.

And I was too lost looking for passion under only God-knows-what to see clearly anything in front or behind me.

I sent one of my clients a note today: Happiness is not to be sought from outside sources, instead find happiness first within, and then, as if miraculously, the outside sources will align with you.

That’s pretty much how it all went down for me anyway;)

I leave you with this: Any clues looking back that might point you directly to your passion/purpose? Not really? No worries, this dude sounds like he knows what he’s talking about: “Don’t ask what the world needs. Asks what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is more people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

 

*Currently reading: The Rise of Superman: Decoding the science of ultimate human performance by Steven Kotler

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

