one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Why We Shouldn’t Fuck Cancer

I’ve been thinking about this post for a long time, aware of how sensitive a topic it is. I myself have never had cancer, but I’ve had close family and friends lost to or living with the disease.

I understand that families have been robbed and that much suffering has occurred at the hands of cancer, but I still don’t believe an aggressive approach is the answer.

Look at the success of the War on Drugs campaign, for instance, or the War on Crime. Or what about the War on War?

Doesn’t it really come down to a severe lack of love causing all those things?

More aggression seems to be feeding just that, more aggression.

Cancer is the proliferation of misbehaving cells in the body. The causes of cancer or many; including, but not limited to: pro-inflammatory cellular environment, mitochondrial dysfunction, high-glycemic diet, and oxidative stress from environmental toxins, nutrient deficiencies and highly stressful lifestyle.

We all know non-smokers with cancer and even 98-year-old ladies who drink whiskey and smoke a pack a day still rockin’, healthy as an ox.

Their is no fairness or unfairness to the disease. It doesn’t pick and choose. It doesn’t have to make sense. It just is.

All we can do is learn from it. Seek out the gifts in it. And send love. Send lots and lots of love.

In dealing with my own health issues over the last couple years, I noticed any attack on myself or my auto-immune symptoms was not only futile, it was exhausting. Going around hating how I felt, how I looked, how I lived, for the time being, got me nowhere.

As a personal trainer, I’ve worked with several clients who hated their bodies. We did a lot of work with little results until they started to find something about their bodies they could truly appreciate. It wasn’t until that shift in love, however little at first, occurred that progress really began to take shape.

Hating the miracle that is our bodies, in any way, shape or form, as far as I’m concerned, is counterproductive. Think back to a time in your life when hating anything made it go away. It magnifies instead, doesn’t it? And, not to mention, it’s stressful; cancer cells just love to feed off stress.

I know it’s fun to say Fuck Cancer! It has a nice ring. It’s much cooler than saying, “Love Cancer!” And don’t worry, that’s not my intention. I’m not printing new bumper stickers or anything.

Cancer is in the body, whether we like it or not, and the body needs love and compassion and forgiveness. Trying to hate even just one part of our body, the bad part, doesn’t work. It is all part of a system; a system which we would really like to work together, ideally.

Cancer, as with any of life’s perceived inequities, can be best treated with grace and gratitude. Attitude has the power to make it a miserable experience or turn even a painful experience positive.

Feeding the negative energy that surrounds cancer is akin to feeding the cancer itself. Let’s instead seek out the latest treatment information, surround ourselves with a positive wellness team, and love the body, trusting in the end that it knows exactly what to do.

I leave you with this: Make love not war.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

