one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Flow Mojo

“Most people live in a very restricted circle of their potential being. They make use of a very small portion of their possible consciousness, and of their soul’s resources in general, much like a man who, out of his whole organism, should get into a habit of using and moving only his little finger.” –The Rise of Superman by Steven Kotler

I’m obsessed with the book I’m reading right now. I’m not even half-way through and I’m already planning the immediate replay. Although I have about 10 other books in the queue, this one is worth a second listen. The Rise of Superman is all about the science of flow state. At first listen, I’m enjoying the stories. The second go-round will be all about the science.

As I was listening last night while doing the dishes, I was reminded of my own story. The author, Kotler, was detailing how adventure athletes’ senses heighten in flow state, certain parts of your brain shut off to eliminate slow decision-making, time seemingly slows down, and instincts and intuition take over.

My brother and I were snowboarding in West Virginia a few years back. He took off into the trees and like the eight-year-old I become when I’m around him, I followed, no debate.

Before I had any chance to change my mind, I was swerving narrowly between tight pines, gaining speed with no room to slow down.

It was such an exhilarating experience that we did it confidently three or four times that day, choosing different routes each time.

Perhaps it was our second beer break, or that I began to question my fatigue on the last run. I clipped the tip of my board and went flying forward when my board got caught between the narrow trees, nearly sending me out of my boots, only to have my bro on my tail slam into me seconds after. We were laughing hysterically, and perhaps nervously, as we knew we were lucky.

I have done very few tree runs since that day with that thought in mind, “What were we thinking?”

But that’s just it. I now know.

We weren’t thinking.

And there was something really magical about that.

Perhaps that’s part of the truism behind: Leap and the net will appear.

Sometimes we think too much. We lack trust. We have no evidence of the miracles we are capable of, so be it.

Yet the proof is out there, but somehow it doesn’t apply to us.

Why is that?

I leave you with this: Take a field trip to a high ropes course, or white water rafting, or some other adventure. Find your flow mojo, and start earning your evidence.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

