one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

What’s The One Thing You Needed To Hear That Was Never Said?

Each time I leave a Camp Bravehearts weekend, I take with me a new gift. This past weekend it was the gift of receiving.

I participated in one of the most powerful exercises of gratitude and receiving I have ever witnessed.

The question posed: What’s the one thing you needed to hear that was never said?

As we all gathered our individual thoughts, the leader of this moving exercise, Laura Berry called three women to the front.

Seated facing away from us, eyes closed, we all lined up behind them to tell those women individually the thing we so desperately needed to hear.

Each woman received the gift of close to 40 voices telling them exactly what they were missing all along.

“I believe in you.”

“You are good enough.”

“You’re perfect just the way you are.”

“Dreams really do come true.”

“I am so very grateful to have you in my life.”

“I love you.”

And so on.

One just as divine as the next.

There was not a dry eye in the house. (Which tends to happen, of course, when you put 50 women in a confined space;)

The words were universal. The messages straight to the heart.

As I sat there accepting the gift from each voice, I felt their hands on my shoulders, their whisper in my ear, and their earnest wish for me to accept what they themselves never received.

I couldn’t think of a more beautiful offering.

I leave you with this: To give is to love, to receive is to cherish.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker, and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For further deets, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

