one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Perfect Procrastination

I just finished Brian Tracy’s short book Eat That Frog! where I learned about a thousand things that I do wrong in the way of getting shit done.

I took in the information so well, in fact, that I just finished playing an hour’s worth of treat hockey and toy mouse on a string with Boots the kitten.

“Looks like I’ll start tomorrow.”

… Every good procrastinators favorite phrase.

I’ve known for quite some time that I should make a list of three priorities the night before, but nothing says it more vividly than Eat That Frog!

In plain and simple terms, start your day with the task that means the frickin most.

I just love to check off 10 meaningless things to make myself feel good only to realize that I didn’t get what was really important accomplished, which, of course, makes me feel not so good.

My issue: Email FOMO. I love to delete and sort and read and file away and keep my inbox organized and tamed.

Guess how much $$ that makes me? Guess how much of it is really useful? Guess how much positive energy I gain from this rather mundane daily task?

Honestly, the only thing I get out of all this sorting and deleting is a false sense of accomplishment that does absolutely nothing in the realm of building a transformative business.

I justify it because I’m learning from distant mentors through their blogs and product launches, or I get in a TED hole (which isn’t so bad, right?), or I’m sifting articles for clients who might find them useful, or squirreling away blog post ideas, and so it goes.

Getting rid of procrastination all together is nearly impossible, yet choosing where and when to procrastinate makes all the difference.

By eating the frog first thing in the morning, we actually gain more momentum to take on other big tasks AND likely find out that the task we once thought to be so darn demanding wasn’t nearly as difficult as we made it out to be.

“Procrastination is an attitude’s natural assassin, there is nothing so fatiguing as an uncompleted task. -william james

My breakfast: the frog. My choice procrastination: the email obsession.

I leave you with this: How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. How do you eat a frog? Just fucking do it.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For further deets, please visit kathurley.com, yo.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

