one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Crazy Is As Crazy Does

I used to call myself crazy. Sort of in the fun kind of way that everyone is a little crazy, and sort of not. I kinda liked the description. I found it funny that not all that long ago that very well could have been your diagnosis: Plumb Crazy.

It covered all the bases. Meaning I never had to sort anything out.

As a woman, every month I’d be a little crazy. As a teacher, every weekend I’d get a little crazy. As a girlfriend, every fight made me a little crazy. As a grown up, every little hiccup might just bring on the crazies.

It was a crapshoot. A total crazy crapshoot.

The only problem, since there was clearly a problem, was that standing under the crazy umbrella wasn’t solving a damn thing.

Rather than just accepting that I had these bouts of the crazies, like most of us do: drinking, drugging, Netflix-ing, FBook-ing them away, it turns out that if I’d just sorted them out, one-by-one, I could get rid of the crazies altogether.

Now when I act a little crazy, it’s by choice and for fun … not because I NEED to air out the insanity.

No more meltdowns. No more late night Sarah McLachlan CD sessions. No more public displays of drunk ugly crying.

One by one, I turned inward and sorted and filed all the junk that I’d always heaped into one pile. It took time, it took patience, but decluttering Was. Worth. It. All it took was some awareness, mindfulness, and persistence.

Tracking the triggers that set us off, identifying the patterns, making new choices and not falling victim to the same old script. That’s it.

And one-by-one the crazy pile gets smaller. It becomes manageable. It feels lighter. And better still, you get back your control.

I leave you with this: Not sure what control feels like? Check yo crazy pile;)

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com.

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

