one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Nourishing Yourself With “NO”

I’m almost through James Altucher’s newest book The Power of No: Because one little word can bring health.

This is one of my favorite parts so far:

I started saying “No” to people who weren’t right for me. I started saying “No” to everything I didn’t want to do.

I started saying “No” to mindless meetings, mindless events, mindless people who were bad for me, mindless food or alcohol, mindless anger and regret. Mindless TV and news.

I started saying “No” to colonoscopies and other things related to painful medical experiments. I listed all the things I could say “No” to and I still do.

When you have a tiny tiny piece of shit in the soup it doesn’t matter how much more water you pour in and how many more spices you put on top. There’s shit in the soup.

There is nothing like trying to sugar coat shit in yo soup! And yet we do, some of us, all damn day.

I keep going back to that piece from Caroline Myss I posted a couple weeks ago, about betraying ourselves.  In response to the question: How do we know if we’re on the right path? “You’re not put in a position where you feel like you have to negotiate your sense of integrity, [ … ] your heart, […] you don’t feel like you have to compromise who you are.”

BOOM!

That’s where the boundary gets drawn. That’s where the no has its most power and the true yeses begin to take shape. That’s when living in alignment trumps nearly all else.

And that’s when we’re the most confident, living our core values.

I leave you with this: If it’s not a “hell yes”, than it’s a “hell no!” Except you still have to go to the dentist, renew your driver’s licence every once in a while, and pay your bills. But, you get the point.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

