one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Mr. Jones and Me #ThatSongWhen

I was a sophomore in high school, smoking a cigarette behind the pine trees lining the tennis courts. I couldn’t get the chorus of Mr. Jones out of my head. I had just bought the Counting Crows tape, August and Everything After just a day or two prior. I couldn’t wait to go home and play it on repeat, rewinding it over and over.

I had just discovered music, really. Good music. Music that made me think, that took me for a ride, music that broke me open. This whole album was one of the many that brought me to that place where I recognized my emotions for the first time. Where I let myself sink–deeper, and deeper. For better or for worse.

Pearl Jam, Nine Inch Nails, Smashing Pumpkins, The Cranberries, Nirvana, Chili Peppers, Oasis, Radiohead were some of the road trips I went on. High and low.

When Spotify prompted me with the idea of #thatsongwhen, these are the albums that came to mind, these are the songs that were pivotal to my existence, when existence was taking supposed shape.

Till this day when I hear Mr. Jones, I want to redo that day over. How could I have been so dumb?

And yet it all happened just as it was supposed to somehow, with my idiot on autopilot. Go figure.

I leave you with this: What song in your collection has a story? How did it change you?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

