one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

On Broadway: Aha Moment #4,762

When I was in high school and early college, I had only one answer to the muddling question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

A rock star.

I was a so-so singer, who hadn’t played an instrument since middle school band and those two-months of guitar lessons in high school with that creepy perv old dude. Still, the MO stuck: rock star.

It was rather non-committal. It allowed me to study (if that’s what you’d call it) liberal arts without much guilt. It kept me from stressing incessantly about my future, while I waited for my moment to be discovered.

I didn’t have a band. If I did, I would have been too chicken to really try. Aware that it took Gwen Stefani and No Doubt seven years living in a van before they even got a hit single. And I was nowhere near as hot as Gwen Stefani.

For a while I switched my focus, white-female-rapper. Eminem had just gotten big. There was no real competition, I’d be a total shoe in. I wrote some rhymes, spit some beats. I’m not gonna lie, it might still happen;)

There was one time though that was different. I was totally caught off guard. I was a senior in high school and my bestie, Jess, darted into drama class, eyes wide, with pen and clip board. She had one quote to fill in the final pages of the year book. She was dead serious: Where will you be in twenty years?

To my surprise, I blurted out: On Broadway.

She smiled, scribbled on her clip board, turned on her heals and then darted back out.

And I was left standing there thinking, “where the hell did that come from?”

I’d been given no time to think, yet what felt like several moments of pondering took place. I’d thought … where do I feel most alive? Where do I feel most vulnerable? Where will I never get bored?

On stage.

Back then, in suburban Maryland, I only knew of one real stage: Broadway.

As I sat down tonight to map out my keynote speech for late October, I got a kick out of the fact that 20 years later, here I am. In NYC. On stage.

Feeling like a rock star.

I leave you with this: Connecting the dots of the past, what picture can you make out? Is it what you thought it would be? How can you reshape it to make it just what you’ve always wanted?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

kat hurley is a transformational author, speaker, and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

