one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Qi Gong: My new shit

throwback of my very sweet tai chi group in HK. I blended right in;)

*I just learned Lee Holden is Deepak’s go-to qi gong dude. I caught him at Mindvalley’s Awesomenessfest a la via Youtube😉

One thing I have to say about all this marathon mania is that I’ve never been kinder to my body in between workouts.

As a lifelong athlete and, worse, a personal trainer, I’m embarrassed to say that stretching has never been my forte. I did yoga once a week and figured my 90 minute mega stretch was enough to suffice for the whole kit and caboodle.

Although I loved the meditation, the union between breath and movement, of yoga, I very rarely could bring myself to do it at home.

Ironically, each time I did my “perfect day” visualization meditation, my perfect day always began with movement. And yet, because the rest of my “perfect day” still seemed out of my reach, I put off the very simple practice, that which I deemed utter perfection, of morning movement (completely within my reach).

Duh, right?

I had a 3-week crash course in tai chi just before leaving Hong Kong to move back to the states (it had only taken me 10 months to get up the courage to ask if I could join the 99.9% Hong Kongese/Chinese group).

Tai chi was flowy and graceful, pretty to watch. Qi gong, on the other hand, although we didn’t know the name for it at the time, looked painful. We were always so curious why all those cute little old Chinese ladies were slapping themselves. Littered everywhere in Hong Kong, you literally could not go outside in the morning without running into a pack of chatty old ladies, smacking themselves. Little did we know they were doing qi gong, meridian points they were hitting. Aha!

I loved it [tai chi] from the first morning, and didn’t miss a day. But I haven’t done it since, and that was almost three years ago. (It’s not very easy to follow on Youtube.) I’ll find a new group one of these days.

In the meantime, I’ve got my morning stretch/qi gong combo and Tibetan Rites, growing and evolving.

The rest of my perfect day is still slightly out of reach, yet perfect mornings, spent honoring my body, unifying breath and movement, are adding up and bridging the gap between today and blissful perfection.

I leave you with this: Get your smack on! One meridian point at a time;)

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker, and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

4 Responses to “Qi Gong: My new shit”

  1. AwakeningAngels

    Fantastic! I went to a QiGong workshop recently and LOVED it! I too love meditation, and so combining gentle movement with meditation was just so nourishing and enjoyable! I felt I got a lot out of it and have continued the practice at home. Thanks for sharing your experience, Sharon

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

