one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Commit to Happiness

Humans of New York 126,927 likes 6,521 shares

I heard this quote today on Gabby Bernstein’s most recent vlog.

“Committing to happiness increases your chances for success.” – Robert Holden

I have certainly seen this unfold in my life. The year it took to publish my book I was feeling more funky than anything, I couldn’t figure it out.

Shouldn’t I be on the moon right now?

It wasn’t until I began this here TYOMD did I realize what was missing.

The writing!

I’d been so focused on the publishing and the marketing and the (mucho important but still bland) blah-blah-blah that I’d gotten away from the very thing that ignited me in the first place.

The definition of success is still under speculation, but waking up everyday excited and feeling incredibly blessed seems like a really great marker;)

Plus, I’m in such great company of other folks following their bliss.

I love this story of Brandon Stanton of Humans of New York:

“In Chicago I was trading bonds. When I came to New York I didn’t really have a plan. I just knew I loved taking photos. I had about 600 portraits of people and I was like, you know what, this would make a pretty good blog.

I photograph everything that makes me happy. Turns out it makes other people happy too.”

I leave you with this: What is that thing for you?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

3 Responses to “Commit to Happiness”

  1. Tracey

    I feel that is so true Kat. I was worrying so much about getting everything right for my writers course that I stopped writing. I finally realised after much stalling that just writing because I love to do it is what really matters. So that is what I do, and I have faith that everything else will follow because I am following my bliss

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      Right on, Tracey. It is so true. And it might not immediately show up in your bank account, but be on the look out for abundance all around. It shows up in the most curious of places; we are all rich beyond measure when we count the right way;)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

