one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Dave the Doorman

A young man came to my bootcamp class tonight. I was pretty certain I’d seen him before, but it had been so long I’d forgotten his name.

After class, I asked him to remind me of it [Dave] as I gave him a high five. We exchanged a big smile when I told him he’d done a great job, and off he went.

I talked to a few other folks on their way out the door; marathon talk, you know how it goes;) And just as I was getting ready to close up shop, Dave apologetically emerged from the bathroom having changed back into real clothes.

We got to talking. He was asking about personal training and if I found it to be a worth-while career. His friend is a trainer and has been encouraging him to look into it.

“What do you do now?”

“I’m a doorman.”

(Which I mistook for bouncer.)

“Oh yeah, then training will be great because while you build your clientele you can keep your current job and they won’t overlap. Besides, I used to always like having two part-time jobs that way I don’t get sick of one full-time one.”

“Oh no,” he said, “I love my full-time job, but I’m only there 7 am -3 pm so I have plenty of time to try other things.”

(This is when I realized he didn’t mean bouncer.)

“I have been a doorman for 10 years and I love it. I’m sure I could get paid more working elsewhere, but I have a community. I get to make everyone’s day on their way out the door. Christmas is great,” he flashed a big grin. “I just love it.”

We continued to talk for a bit, and I just found him more and more earnest and adorable by the moment.

Dave the doorman made my night.

We don’t all need to chase big flashy dreams. We don’t need to be wealthy in order to measure our success. We just need to feel fulfilled, and fulfillment comes in all shapes and sizes, but almost always … in service to others.

“If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music, or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, here lived a great street sweeper who did his job well.” – martin luther king, jr.

I leave you with this: Not in a career that you love? Instead of half-assing it, give it your 100%. The way up and out has less to do with what you’re doing, rather how you’re doing it.

“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, what are you doing for others?” – mlk, jr.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

4 Responses to “Dave the Doorman”

  1. aimpurpose

    Thanks Kat for this great piece. I believe that life’s greatest tragedy is not death but a life without purpose. Perhaps life’s greatest source of frustration is to be in a mismatched job. Finding your purpose and doing it is definitely key to be rightly suited in the right career. Making impact in our communities must be our life goal!

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      So true. I felt directionless myself before I began this most recent path. Not a good feeling walking around feeling lackluster and lost. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Tracey Morgan

    Dear Kat,
    That is such a pertinent piece right now. Work is not a great place and is very unhappy because of micro management and a very controlling manager at that. But the job itself is so rewarding and every day we make a real difference to peoples lives, sometimes actually saving peoples lives. We serve our community in a real and wonderful way. This article has just reminded me what it is really all about and that if I focus on that, and not the down side, life will get one whole lot better. Thank You.

    Like

    Reply
    • kat.hurley

      You’re so welcome, Tracey. So glad to hear that you can see the value in what you do. Super important. As for the controlling manager, I’m always a big fan of anonymous notes;) Thanks for sharing!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

