one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Forge Meaning, Build Identity

On the heels of yesterday’s power defining election, I found this TED to be rather poignant. It’s bazaar to me that people in more than half of the country can still be fired for being gay.

Politics aside, Andrew Solomon’s message reaches far beyond human rights. Overcoming adversity and forging meaning in our circumstances is probably the most liberating thing we can do for ourselves.

I will forever be changed by my own realization of genuine gratitude for even the darkest moments of my life. It would be impossible to define me without all that etched detail. Where would I even begin?

Plus, I do believe in forging meaning. What would be the point otherwise? Not to mention the fact that many seemingly tragic events later turned out to be blatant HUGE blessings. So, really, who am I to judge what befalls me. Clearly there is a bigger picture in the works.

Sage advice: “Forge meaning. Build identity. And then invite others to share in your joy.”

I leave you with this: First, forgiveness, then gratitude. Your life will never be the same. I promise.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is an transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

