one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Childhood Interrupted

Almost two years ago now, I had an auto-immune attack that would scare the cape off Dracula. I had an ugly rash from “tits to toes” as I would say. My legs were so swollen I could barely pedal a bicycle. My only exercise for the first few months of 2013 was daily yoga, struggling to bend in poses that had always come easy. And the worst of all: not being able to sleep. My skin just crawled, so sleeping soundly without scratching and stirring was nearly impossible.

I was a hot-hot mess, to say the least.

In desperation, I reached out to Elisa’s mentor, Replenish PDX. When I had my first health consultation, I answered all the questions I’d heard Elisa ask of her clients at least 100 times. When we got to the childhood trauma part, I felt like I was just going through the motions.

She stopped me in my tracks though, “Wait, how old did you say your mom was when she was killed?”

“35.”

“And you’re how old now?”

“35.”

“Interesting.”

It was the first time I’d put 2 and 2 together, although I wasn’t convinced. I had dealt with all this stuff. I was sure of it. I had forgiven. I’d worked and worked and worked. I was healed. There was no correlation.

Or was there …

Nah.

A few months went by and things began to heal, slowly. Blood tests had reveled an exorbitant amount of food sensitivities. My gut was in serious disrepair. We peeled back all the layers and started building a new foundation.

Perhaps a metaphor for what I had done just a couple years prior, mentally and emotionally.

It wasn’t until I interviewed with Donna Jackson Nakazawa for her new book that I began to understand that I’d almost be silly NOT to make the correlation between childhood trauma and dis-ease.

In her book, Childhood Interrupted, coming August 2015, Nakazawa gives us some keen insight on how our biography does in fact become our biology.

Thankfully, she’s got hope for us.

And I’m living proof, with the right help and the right intentions you can heal both your life and your body.

I leave you with this: It’s all connected. Mind, body, spirit. Don’t ignore the signs, you’re body’s smarter than you know.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is an transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com.

 

20131223-151604.jpgYikes, right?

 

2 Responses to “Childhood Interrupted”

  1. fhaniff

    The body doesn’t lie and it doesn’t forget. Once we acknowledge this, we open ourselves up to a whole new level of healing. Best wishes for your healing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

