one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

The Real Business of Black Friday

Before we’ve even consciously awaken from our food comas, we are automatically catapulted into another holiday season with Black Friday creepin’ in earlier and earlier each year.

I’ve never done any Black Friday damage, I’ve always preferred to stay home and (wo)man the leftovers and sneak in some R&R. Crowds, lines, cluttered stores, commotion, no thank you. I’d much rather point and click.

I’m not a total Scrooge, I do like to go shopping later in the holidays when it starts to feel more like Christmas. I’ve been known to buy too much when I start early, so I have to pace myself anyway;)

So in the days following Thanksgiving, instead of shopping, I’m checking back in on my 2014 goals to see what I can accomplish in the next 33 days.

I know this time of year most people throw in the towel. In the past, the appeal of the clean slate and fresh start of the new year always seemed enough reason to put things off till then.

The thing is that it takes between 4-6 weeks to create a habit. So my thinking is, wouldn’t it be better to enter the New Year with a new rich habit, than to be 33 days deeper into a poor one?

I have a fitness goal I haven’t reached that I’ll be working towards. I have three professional goals I’m after that I’ll be sharing as they come to fruition. I also have some personal growth goals that are never too far off my radar. As my accountability partner, you’ll be the first to know when and what I’m after.

I know it seems like a lot, but I’d rather have too much on my plate than too little. I’m the same way with food, which is why I have a belly ache and am already planning a mini cleanse for next week;)

This is crunch time, but I work well under pressure. And I have a hunch you do too.

This is no time to throw in the towel, we’ve got frickin business to handle.

I leave you with this: 33 days.

PS … If you need help formulating your goals, and you know better than to wait till the new year, click here and we will get you all set up.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

