one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

It’s Been Done Before

I had signed up to see Seth Godin speak, gosh, months ago it must have been. I read his daily blog and love his stuff, so I figured I should support what he’s doing locally here in NYC, at the Met no less.

It was a conversation with so and so about art and entrepreneurship, that was as far as I’d gotten. So I was a little embarrassed when I sat down to be thumbing through the Met’s events calendar hoping for a solid blurb to clue me in. Thankfully I sat next to a friendly pastor from San Diego who gave me the low down.

I won’t bore you with all the “you had to be there” details, because quite honestly most of it had to do with the art exhibit upstairs that I haven’t seen yet.

But I will say that I loved hearing the art curator speak about her artist. She championed him in such a way that even I was convinced he should be world renowned.

She knew every last detail it seemed, as if she knew him personally, and glowed when she spoke of him like a long lost love.

I never tire watching passion up close and personal.

As for Seth, he’s pretty brilliant. He has a new book out today I’m looking forward to reading.

I had saved this blurb from his blog for you a while back on the dreaded, borrowing Seth’s term, vemodalen:

“[Actually it’s] John Koenig [who] calls it vemödalen. The fear that you’re doing something that’s already been done before, that everything that can be done has been done.

But no one is asking you to be original. We’re asking you to be generous and brave and to matter. We’re asking you to step up and take responsibility for the work you do, and to add more value than a mere cut and paste. Give credit, definitely, but reject vemödalen.

Sure, it’s been done before. But not by you. And not for us.”

I leave you with this: Seek ongoing meaning in your muse (be its champion!) and naturally cast out that pesky vemodalen.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

