one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

All I Want For Christmas … Featuring Boots the Kitten and Pitbull

… is another toilet paper roll.

Hair ties, paper towel rolls and twist ties are on the stocking stuffer list too.

Boots the kitten has two toys that were actually purchased for him. And they’ve hardly gotten any attention.

He reminds me of my nephew in that way. Years ago, when I lived in Hawaii, my nephew was two. He got a beautiful train set for Christmas and a bunch of cool toys. It took us an hour to build the train set for him. He played with it for about twenty minutes, crashed the whole thing down, and then waddled into the kitchen, opened up the cabinets and started banging Tupperware together, like usual.

Even tin foil is too flashy for Boots, although this new shimmering tree with one hundred paws-off dangling ornaments seems like the best gift of all. But we always want most what we can’t have.

tree

We’ve even given him 3 or 4 of his own branches, but without “can’t touch this” appeal … they lose their luster rather quickly.

Plus, every time he goes for the tree, he gets picked up and held and rubbed and loved. (How’s that for positively reinforcing a negative behavior?)

Full of sap.

Full of sap.

And isn’t that what we all ultimately want anyway: love and hugs and rubs and snuggles?

I can’t remember which podcast or TED or article I was reading/viewing/listening to the other day that talked about a study where people were asked what they were more likely to share in conversation: things they own or experiences they’ve had. Experiences won by a landslide.

So, don’t be fooled–again–this holiday. Remember just how quickly things lose their desirability. It is often the simple things that make us the most happy. And true happiness has nothing to do with things at all. Right?

I’ve had the pleasure of living in Hong Kong and now New York, where acquiring things on a large scale is nearly impossible. I’ve gotten rid of more than I’ve accumulated in the past few years. Yet this time of year, I’m out and about in the festivus and am lured by the same marketing tricks, bells and whistles as anybody. Suddenly I “need” things, I never knew I was missing.

In shopping self defense, I conjure up all the Velveteen-Rabbit-like items that were once must-haves, and get out of there as quickly as possible. I fair better online, but even online the sales and free shipping and buy with 1-click are enough to make things too easy.

My mantra: Less is more, less is more, less is more.

I leave you with this: Love and experiences > gadgets and gifts. And sometimes the simpler, the better, says Boots.

gmatree

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dremaing. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

