one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

12 Days of Kindness Adventure: Day 8, A little compliment goes a long way

One of my cousins paid me a compliment at our holiday party Saturday that has stuck with me. She said a recent photo of mine on FB reminded her of my mom, and even my Gma (two beautiful women whose bright and joyful personalities were often captured in their photos).

She had thought about commenting on FB she said, but decided to wait and tell me in person. I was so happy she did, and perhaps that’s why it has stuck with me the way that it has.

It was such a simple gesture, yet it reminded me how easily we can touch people with just a few kind words.

It’s true, a little compliment does go a long way. And again, a double win for the complimentor and complimentee. Hooray!

I often have these glimpses where I want to compliment people, especially strangers, but I’m worried it will be taken the wrong way … so I hesitate, and then, of course, lose the opportunity.

Today I set out to put an end to that hesitation and just blurt out whatever came to mind. I nearly chased a women down over her hat. And I had a great exchange over some red high top sneakers.

Why not, right? Really, what’s the worst that can happen?

It can’t get any more awkward than, [To a man/stranger] “I think you’re beautiful. I just had to tell you. I’m not trying to hit on you or anything. I have a girlfriend, but I can still appreciate perfection when I see it. Seriously, do chicks just line up at your door? Just saying.”

Yup. It was awkward. But we both got a good laugh out of it.

Later, I wished I’d asked him if he was a model, because I’d buy whatever he was selling.

Don’t worry, I have that one saved now for the next live and in person Greek God I meet.

I leave you with this: Compliment with abandon. Only if you feel called, but when you do, go to town.

Day 8 Kindness Adventure

*Gave a lot of compliments. Received a few too!

*Parked and retrieved the car from East Jesus for Elisa

*Helped an old man parallel park his car

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

