one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

12 Days of Kindness Adventure: Day 9, Say my name, say my name

I love this ad. Talk about recognition. What an amazing gift to give to someone you adore.

Of course you have to be highly creative, super talented and tech savvy to pull it off. Pshh.

Thankfully there are lots of ways to recognize people you care about, not to mention, mere acquaintances. One of the most simple: Say their name.

You know those people who insert your name into conversation, sometimes more than once. Don’t you love those people? I do. I always walk away feeling as if we really connected.

I don’t know what it is about the name thing, but it absolutely works.

Tonight I went to a class in Union Square. It was only my second visit to the studio. After I got changed, I went to the counter to sign in. The nice woman that I’d barely spoken two words to last time, said, “You’re all good, Kat. I already got you.”

I have no idea what her name was. I should have asked. Regardless I’m grateful for her, because it was such a simple thing, yet I really felt recognized.

I taught bootcamp tonight and made an effort, as I usually do, to encourage people by their name. Often approaching the non-regulars, “remind me your name again” — even when I’m embarrassed because I feel like I should know it.

It makes a difference. And I suspect, a more significant one than we imagine.

Think about it: When upper management knows your name, your barista, your bank teller, your post man, your bartender/waitress, etc. It feels good, right?

Great. Now it’s your turn.

I leave you with this: Make the effort to learn people’s names. And then make them smile by saying it.

Today’s Kindness Adventure:

*Tried and failed to wake up another sleeping passenger on the train at the last stop

*Danced like a fool during my class, just because

#Onward

Much Love,

Kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

