one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Winter Solstice: Let the light shine in

funmozer.com

Thank goodness winter brings a whole bunch of awesome holidays, or else we all might move to Florida with the old folks.

For someone who used to blame S.A.D. for just about everything mopey and gray about the winter, I’ve always been grateful for the distractions the holidays bring.

As I mentioned a while back, this year I’m approaching winter from a different angle. I’ve embraced the cold with some solid new gear and am really looking forward to reshaping my relationship with the season.

Besides, as a kid, I used to love winter. I didn’t cringe at the cold like I’ve gotten in the habit of. I played ice hockey for goodness sakes. I was a ski bunny. I lived for snow days.

What happened?

I bought into the story. That’s what happened. I picked up the “winter sucks” attitude and ran with it.

Sure, I’m really more of a sun goddess, but there is much to be appreciated about the winter. It’s not all pale skin and fat pants and gray and gloom. I promise.

It is a time for the natural cycle of death and rebirth. It’s a great time to turn inward and slow down. Now is also the perfect time to get good and clear on your desires and plant the seeds for an abundant new year.

Winter solstice, the shortest day of the year, is behind us by a few days. Now, each day ahead is getting longer and brighter.

… But there’s no rush.

I leave you with this: Embrace the darkness; invite it in for tea. Sit with it for a while. It’s mostly an illusion anyway, because the light is just on the other side.

And just think, in no time we’ll be bitchin about how hot it is.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

