one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Tap That Soul, Brother!

We busted out the Chat Pack last night after an intense hour or so of the iphone version of Catch Phrase.

My brother went to bed, so it was Elisa and I, my sister-in-law, and my niece and nephew, 20 and 17 respectively, at the whim of the deck–some lighthearted, some serious.

One question got us all thinking: “What do you want your ultimate legacy to be?”

Hmmm …

I speak and write about this stuff all the time and, suddenly, I couldn’t get it out.

With the question being so direct, I felt backed up against the wall, somehow.

Funny, my nephew had no problem. He wants a statue, where everyone can see it, of himself boasting all his accomplishments. I had to laugh; this is coming from a fairly shy and mostly modest guy.

Who is this dude I’m sitting next to? Apparently we just met.

I have to admit I was kind of proud of him for being so bold. Go for it, brother!

I answered with my piece about speaking and writing and changing the world one bad joke and lesson on mindfulness at a time.

But what I was really thinking, I couldn’t explain–briefly, that is.

I was thinking about the concept of authenticity, and just really owning you.

Oprah was talking about it recently in her Super Soul Sunday interview with Alanis Morissette. She said something along the lines of, “I was lucky because I got famous being me.” Meaning: she wasn’t pretending to something other than who she was.

For as many books as I read, newsletters and podcasts I subscribe to, and distant mentors I’ve accumulated, I find this to be really difficult: quitting the comparison game and focusing on that which is authentically you and therefore authentically awesome.

When I compare, I feel small, because I’m not quite where I want to be just yet. I am 36 for F’s sake. Blah, blah, blah.

When I bring love and joy and laughter and light into everything I do, when I feel most genuine and alive, not only do I feel good, but other people really dig that shit too.

And isn’t that what it’s all about?

Who cares what you accomplish. It’s more about who you lift up along the way.

I leave you with this: Tap that soul, brother!

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming.com. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

