one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

How To Learn Faster

I thought this was a great follow up to yesterday’s winter reading list post.

This is my homeboy and distant mentor, Brendon Burchard, freestyling on getting our learn on. His latest book, Motivation Manifesto, is next in cue on my nightstand.

I love this vid because it speaks so perfectly to my lack of success in school.

In order to create a learning habit: “know the connection between what you want to learn and your dream life.”

Just like Simon Sinek says: “Start with why.”

I was bored to tears in school. I always make the joke that I didn’t learn how to read until grad school. I got decent grades doing the bare minimum, but I was never excited about the material.

It wasn’t until I was nearly thirty when I began reading voraciously.

The only difference …

I had a why.

When I finally made the decision to pursue writing, words had more weight, books were the treasures I never could fathom. I’d found my genre: Creative Non-fiction.

I read so carefully that each author presented to me their own course in grammar, usage, rhythm, metaphor. I was a insatiable student.

I hardly recognized myself.

I read what the authors I was reading read. I studied their interviews. I scoured the internet for information on their early writing life, whatever nuggets I could attain that would help me in the process.

The most important pieces I dug up: they were afraid, they thought their work was shit, they procrastinated, they struggled with their why, they were a lot like me.

The only difference between them and me then: they went for it. Because they couldn’t not.

And boy do I get that now.

I leave you with this: Do the thing you can’t not do. That, my friend, is your why!

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

PS … no time for a 14 min vid? Watch in double time. Just change the setting. He’s kinda cute as a chipmunk;)

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

4 Responses to “How To Learn Faster”

  1. Marie

    Do the thing you can’t not do – I’m trying. Can’t not do research, ask questions, crunch numbers, analyze, and write. then postulate.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Tracey

    This guy is amazing. Thank You for sharing it with us Kat. I have ordered the book and signed up for the course.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

