one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

The Pisser of Instant Gratification

Instant gratification feels great almost always in the moment. Isn’t that what it’s all about? It’s the buyer’s remorse later, the Sunday afternoon brunch hangover, or the food coma that snaps us back into reality.

With high speed everything, we are instant gratification junkies now. And I’m right there with you. If a page takes longer than 2 seconds to load, “pshhh”–I’m over it.

I listen to my audiobooks in 1.5, my TED talks in 2.0 and I’m looking for my package next-day-or-bust with Amazon Prime.

How’s that for a mindfulness teacher?

I do have my limits. I don’t check my phone first thing in the morning and I don’t own a microwave.

I also don’t expect a diet to work overnight, a meditation program to radically change everything by Tuesday and my dreams to unfold at the snap of my fingers.

I boil water with a real kettle and believe that some things happen in their own time at their own pace.

Sure, I’d like my bank account to be fatter, my business to boom and my book to sell more copies, but, as they say, it takes 10 years to become an overnight success.

With all this instant gratification though, I worry that we’ve forgotten that some stuff just can’t be fixed with an app. Perhaps our perception has been skewed on how long we should wait for a good thing.

Often we give up before we’ve given it the good ol’ college try. We’re too impatient to see what might actually come of it and instead dismiss our diet, workout regimen, meditation program, entrepreneurial venture, you name it.

And while I’m all for high speed internet and overnight shipping, I try to remain with my feet on the ground in a land where focused work and dedication and patience are still the norm.

I leave you with this: Don’t quit too soon. There’s so much more to experience.

#Onward

Also, don’t forget about the Resolution Rewind. There is still time to save on this awesome course.

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

