one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Change For Good

My cousin sent me this great article from WebMD on motivation. It’s short and sweet and to the point on why change doesn’t stick.

Here’s an excerpt:

First, think about what will drive you to strive. The most compelling goals are those that have an emotional element.

“You need to find a personal hook,” says Martha Carnahan, a business and life coach in Atlanta. She uses a technique she calls “drilling down to the deepest why.”

Say your goal is to lose weight. Consider this Q&A example:

Q: Why do you want to lose weight?

A: Because I want to be healthier.

Q: Why do you want to be healthier?

A: Because I need to lower my blood pressure.

Q: Why do you want to lower your blood pressure?

A: Because I want to feel better.

Q: Why do you want to feel better?

A: Because I’d like to have more energy at the end of the day.

Q: Why do you want to have more energy at the end of the day?

A: Because I want to be able to spend time playing with my kids when I get home from work.

Keep going until you reach a deep, emotional level, Carnahan says.

“By the end, you’ve dug down to a motivator that will stick,” she says.

 

I love this.

It’s so true, the emotion is the tacky stuff. It’s tangible. It has the power to move us to action far more readily than any idea.

Just as Simon Sinek talked about “starting with why” in business, we should start with why for anything we’re after.

For instance, I’ve run races in the past when I wanted to give up. I had nothing to prove. I’ve crossed enough finish lines in my life. But when I thought about the cause, all those I was running for, those who can’t physically run, not only did I finish, I even picked up my pace.

And since we’re such great martyr’s, most of us, I think it’s a great idea to reach outside ourselves for motivation.

For instance, I could drag my ass on my business some more, as I have a little. Fear, finances and other hurdles could easily keep me stagnant if I allowed. But when I think about all the people I could be helping if I got out of my own way, that speaks to me a whole lot more than my own sacrifice.

Whether your goal is to wake up an hour earlier or to get to the gym more often, reach for the underlying why.

Have that be the picture in your head when you reach to push snooze, or the story you tell yourself to karate chop the excuses.

Trust me, the people who are killing it personally and professionally, have a very clear why.

But just like anybody, they’re not perfect, which is to say, they’re constantly tweaking. I know this only because I study them, and it makes me feel better to read that they’re not always on their A Game.

But when they aren’t, they know what went wrong. 99.9% of the time they’ve lost their motivation getting caught up in the whats and hows, straying further from true north: WHY.

I leave you with this: Dig till you hit emotion. Start there.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivatin @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

