one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

What’s the Point of Being Realistic

I saved this motivational cheeeeeese sammich for you, because, like all snacks, it’s great to keep in your back pocket for when you get hungry. Just don’t sit on it. And I advise refrigeration if it’s gonna be a while.

You’re welcome;)

Last night I couldn’t sleep I was buzzing with so much excitement. I was still high from an awesome improv class and excited about my upcoming Toastmasters’ competition; it could have also been the chocolate chip cookies at 11pm. I’m sensitive to caffeine.

Either way, I was amped thinking about all the amazing upcoming opportunities. And not so much for me, but for all I have to offer. These gifts I’ve been cultivating to give to others that began with a seed of inspiration some seven years ago.

I say this with confidence now after having gotten it all wrong for so many years. I was thirty when I finally had the guts to stop asking what the world could do for me, and instead … what I could give back to the world.

A slight difference in semantics made all the difference in my life. My purpose revealed, my passion focused, my talents rewarded.

I love this video above because I read Randy Pausch’s book just before he died in 2008 and cried and cried throughout its pages because it spoke so clearly to me.

I’ve studied Steve Jobs and know that he has a boatload of confidence in the crazy ones, because he was one of them–and so am I.

And I’m with Will Smith 100% when he says, “What’s the point of being realistic?” I have been criticized for being a dreamer for much of my life. The path I have taken has been unconventional, to say the least. And yet I am creating a life by my own design and helping others to do the same.

And what is realistic anyway? It sounds so last season.

I leave you with this: If you’re stuck on your purpose, first … have a snack, then ask one of, if not, THE single most important questions: “How can I serve?” And then listen close, it might be a whisper. But it’s all yours for the taking. Run with it.

#Onward

PS … A rare two spots have opened in my coaching practice. If you or someone you know could benefit from an accountability partner, kind and loving bullshit detector, and mindfulness-centered biz/life/relationship coach, do holler back–asap. I’m booking initial consultations as early as this week.

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

