one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

To All the Lovers in the House

Since yesterday’s post was for the haters, today is dedicated to the lovers. Truth be told, when I was a hater … it was only because I was such a lover that I couldn’t stand not giving it to someone!

There were so many relationships where I’d think, “Am I asking for too much? Shouldn’t I be grateful for what I have?” But something deep down told me I was settling for less.

When the pro v. con list comes out, you know there’s some issues.

Elisa and I are hardly perfect. We are up way too late on our laptops more often than not. The phone can still evoke spats on dinner dates. Lately she has told me how much my sneezing bothers her. And I don’t particularly love that she slams the cabinets when she cooks.

Thankfully, the things we don’t like about each other are never a secret. We established honesty from early on, and that has been the foundation, take it or leave it.

I have never trusted someone so much, even when she announces she’s found a new wife on Instagram, I can only smile. Both she and I joke that after seven years our game is likely tired and our dating future grim. Plus, no one would be as entertained by us, as we are each other–we’re certain.

Our ever evolving pillars:

1. Honesty and trust, hands down most important.

2. Laughing and dancing–not a dancer? Do it anyway, it has never stopped Elisa;)

3. Share chores. Always.

4. Check in every night. We always say what our favorite part was about the day.

5. Be each other’s biggest cheer leaders. Nobody needs another critic.

6. Compromise. More.

7. Say I’m sorry. And mean it.

8. Adventures. Lots of them.

9. Individual goals and family goals.

10. Snuggles beats paper, rocks and scissors.

I leave you with this: Love on someone today;)

#Onward

PS … A rare two spots have opened in my coaching practice. If you or someone you know could benefit from an accountability partner, kind and loving bullshit detector, and mindfulness-centered biz/life/relationship coach, do holler back–asap. I’m booking initial consultations as early as this week.

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

