one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

I Can Get Down With the Sheep

Happy Lunar New Year!

Although I lived in Hong Kong for a year, I left ignorant of what all this Ram, Sheep, Goat stuff means. It is only in the last couple years hanging out with all these yogis that I’m starting to understand, and respect, the lingo and traditions.

Lucky Lotus Yoga, Brooklyn sent me this yesterday, which I thought summed it up nicely:

Starting February 19 2015, we are in the year of the Yin Wood Sheep which brings about a soft, gentle and feminine energy.

Yin energy is very creative, intuitive and gentle. Yin energy gives us time to focus, get centered and take stock over what we have created so far.The element of Wood brings the energy of groundedness and understanding oneself on a deeper level. The Sheep symbolizes the energy of generosity, patience and peacefulness. The goal of the sheep is to create harmony and beauty within the home and family and is often considered to be the most feminine of the zodiac animals.

This year will be about knowing yourself clearly and deeply, forgiving yourself, clearing past wounds and accepting who you are. The sheep will guide us to tune into our intuition and emotional well-being while still being receptive to the emotions of others. She asks that we use our mind and heart to make decisions, rather than force and aggression.

Intuition, creativity, authenticity, generosity, forgiveness, acceptance, right on! Sounds like my kinda year;)

This is also a great time for another fresh start. And since I’m a huge fan of fresh starts, here goes!

I’m happy to report that our Lenten endeavor is going well. Elisa has given up the snooze button too. A bigger feat for her because this time of year she sleeps like a bear.

I’ve noticed though when I bring in a new good habit I seem to lose one, lol. So with the Lunar New Year I will re-focus.

I leave you with this: Take this opportunity to begin again. There’s always space for a fresh start.

#Onward

PS … A rare two spots one spot has opened in my coaching practice. If you or someone you know could benefit from an accountability partner, kind and loving bullshit detector, and mindfulness-centered biz/life/relationship coach, do holler back–asap. I’m booking initial consultations as early as this week.

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

