one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

I’d Like to Thank the Academy

Although I’ve never been a good actor, I play a really great one in real life. Or, I used to, rather. At least my Gma thought so. In response to my pubescent dramatics: “That performance belongs on stage!” she’d say.

We didn’t really get along in those days.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had deep respect for actors. I’ve always seen it as a very vulnerable and brave passion.

I coach a few actors now and I’m constantly in awe of how they put themselves out there. They are my teachers in that way, and to blame for my recent pursuit in improv and likely, sooner than later, open mic stand-up.

I had a conversation with one client/actor the other day about her not having a project right now and how that was effecting her mentally/emotionally. To which I nudged: Act as if.

It’s answering the question: Who would you be if you had the part? How would that form your attitude, your decisions, your actions?

The concept is, rather than waiting on the world to give you those things, take control of that which we have: act as if you already have the part.

This can play a part in confidence, abundance mindset, boundaries, and so on. It’s huge!

I just finished Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please where she spoke of success as being the dangling carrot. Because once we have the part, we want the award; and once we have the award, we want more, and more, and more.

So defining success in your own terms is where it’s at. Not based on outside measures.

As the Academy Awards are among us, I was thinking about my speech, say, I won.

They would kick me off stage for going on and on about my friends and family and Elisa. I’d cry, the ugly kind, and I would be selfish and ignore the music. I, of course, would thank my manager, agent, and the academy, but, Lord, all those years of putting up with my crap would go to friends and family.

One day, sooner than later, I will write that speech. Perhaps not for the Academy Awards but for something just as amazing worth celebrating.

In the meantime, I’m acting as if I’ve already won, and my gratitude is through the roof to all those who got me here.

I leave you with this: Act as if. It’s so much better that way!

PS … A rare two spots one spot has opened in my coaching practice. If you or someone you know could benefit from an accountability partner, kind and loving bullshit detector, and mindfulness-centered biz/life/relationship coach, do holler back–asap. I’m booking initial consultations as early as this week.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

