one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

A Meditation on Mortality: How to live

After reading this New York Times, Oliver Sacks, piece, I was prompted to finally read The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat; a book long overdue on my “to read” list.

I’m only a few chapters in, yet I can already see why it comes so highly recommended.

Sacks, a neurologist and gifted writer (who doesn’t write like a scientist), now in his 80’s–nine years after is first diagnosis–is facing mortality with the discovery of his matastacized cancer.

It is very zen to meditate on one’s mortality, and I’d say Sacks is approaching the news as mindfully as anyone could ask.

“It is up to me now to choose how to live out the months that remain to me. I have to live in the richest, deepest, most productive way I can.”

Good advice for all of us, no?

Nobody likes to bring up the elephant in the room, shhhh, we are all dying.

“I feel a sudden clear focus and perspective. There is no time for anything inessential. I must focus on myself, my work and my friends. I shall no longer look at “NewsHour” every night. I shall no longer pay any attention to politics or arguments about global warming.”

If we kept it to a single newshour, we’d likely be fine. But, most of us are ingesting news 24/7.

I read the headlines, and throughout the course of the day get about 1/2 hour of scroll-time on social media, plus I talk to people out in the world, and therefore feel as though I rarely miss the news. I’d say ditch the newshour altogether and, instead, gain clarity and focus.

“I cannot pretend I am without fear. But my predominant feeling is one of gratitude. I have loved and been loved; I have been given much and I have given something in return; I have read and traveled and thought and written. I have had an intercourse with the world, the special intercourse of writers and readers.

Above all, I have been a sentient being, a thinking animal, on this beautiful planet, and that in itself has been an enormous privilege and adventure.”

I leave you with this: If only we all had the better sense to live like we were dying.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

