one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

OMG, Do Not Tag Me in That!

I’ve been really digging the new trend: No Makeup Monday’s, Cindy Crawford: un-Photoshopped, Beyonce: undone. I even saw a Perfectly Imperfect vlog recently that struck me as being a really important message.

That’s the crazy thing about our digital lives these days, we’re putting a filter on everything. I spoke with a client yesterday, a photographer, who admitted she always Photoshops herself before it gets the online approval.

There are all sorts of studies now showing that media comparison is worse than ever. We put our best, most fabulous, moments online, donned in our signature filter. Leaving the rest of us, as studies suggest, at home on the couch in our fat pants to feel shitty about ourselves.

I’ve certainly done both, yet generally I get super motivated by following people who are rockin’ it! But I know that’s not a universal motivator, no siree.

I began this weird practice a few years ago that’s changed me a bit for the better. I wanted to share.

I decided I wouldn’t un-tag myself, no matter what. I started in 2011-ish, and it has been terribly painful at times:

monicayikes

Thanks, Monica!

 

This had less to do with my online presence, and more to do with a personal zen practice I like to think of as a punch to the ego’s throat–in the most loving way possible, of course;)

hkyikes

Steph, fix my posture! I see that way before I see Elisa’s dried herb pigtails;)

 

 

And it worked! It allowed me to care less about what others might think: chin rolls, baby bump, devil eyes and all.

patagoniayikes

It even effected my work as a trainer. In class when my shirt creeped up and my less than perfect trainer no-pack-abs showed, I didn’t fix my shirt. I didn’t pretend I could do real push-ups when I can’t, for very long. And I cussed and grunted with the best of ’em, never pretending it was easy.

My trainer resume photo (once upon a time):

fedhillfit

Real life:

hawaiiyikes

I don’t even wear bikini bottoms anymore.

 

 

When I began TYOMD, I really wanted to be as transparent as possible. All my early learning vids and vlogs, like this one, are still alive and well, and excruciating for me to watch.

I wanted to show the transgression. I wanted you to see that you don’t have to be perfect to start. You don’t even have to be good to start. You just have to start!

As for the photos, I think it’s great to check the ego at the screen. I love my perfectly imperfect self far better than I liked the one who cared so much about what I portrayed.

Check out this free headshot gone frightening:

USA

 

And then there’s this:

sweetret

 

The kind few of you may be like, “What? I don’t see the difference.” We are our own biggest critics, no doubt. But, I reconciled long ago, just as much as the cute ones are me … these are me too.

Also, Elisa would like to add: I sneeze really loudly. I make random, strange and often annoying noises of all kinds at potentially very inappropriate times. I also love to push her buttons and I think I’m really funny; she does not.

As for being a trainer and a life coach, there are many many days when I could use both myself. And make no mistake, I will have both one day.

Now, I’m not suggesting you encourage the tagging of terrible photos online. I don’t even go that far. I’m merely thinking: the more real, the better.

Filters are great. I love them. But staying true to oneself is way better.

I leave you with this: Love it all, the good and the “bad.” Because that, my friend, is badass.

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

