one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Voices from Within

I’ve watched this video a few times now and each time I am taken aback by the message, how powerful it is.

I hope it does save lives, truly. I hope their voices can penetrate the ignorance that perpetuates gun violence.

How does it pertain to us here at TYOMD?

I thought about that for a bit before choosing this piece today …

Some of my best teaching has come from a place of shared mistakes and shame. My clients don’t resonate with my success nearly as much as they resonate with my failures.

That’s not to say that we don’t focus on success, but there are millions of avenues to success. Not to mention that success means so many different things to people, but few people argue what shame feels like.

I had deep regrets that ultimately changed me. But it wasn’t until I owned up to them, when I shared them, that I began to see the humanity in them and the possibility of helping others through them.

I was no longer isolated in my own shame. It became clear just how universal those feelings are, and how empowering it can be when you stop running from them.

I’ve come to know some of my mistakes and failures as my biggest gifts to give away, which led to a forgiveness of self I never thought possible.

I have such compassion for those who suffer in shame, because I’ve been there and I know how it eats away at you.

This is why I always encourage you to find your voice, because I believe there is a reason for everything. And if our suffering could change a life, wouldn’t that make it worth it?

I leave you with this: What lesson do you know so well you could teach? Who could you share it with?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, speaker and personal development coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

2 Responses to “Voices from Within”

    • kat.hurley

      Absolutely,I love the project. I think it’s powerful stuff. I look forward to it–and more like it–changing lives. My mother was murdered so I have deep empathy for the families of victims of violence, but I also have grown to acquire compassion for the criminal, especially those unpremeditated pulls of a trigger that happen so quickly and senselessly.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

