one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Feed Your Fear a Suck It Sandwich

Badass bling

I borrowed that title from Jen Sincero’s book, You Are a Badass, which I’m reading for the 4th time because I have another client reading it and I love to try to now read it through her eyes. So when we talk next I can say, “Did you get the part when …?” And there are so many of those.

I actually hated Jen Sincero when I first read this book because her humor is a lot like mine and if I wrote a self help book it would be just like Badass, so basically she stole my idea, which is fucked up. But good thing she is so much like me in my eyes that I can’t really hate her. I think she’s pretty awesome actually.

Each time I read it I have a new Oprah aha moment. Today’s was turning the fear around, which I’ve heard before from other authors, but since Jen writes like me … we’ll borrow her take on it.

“I want to write a book but I can’t get myself to sit down and do it.”

“Why not?”

“I’m scared that if I do it it will be terrible.”

“What happens if it’s terrible?”

“If it’s terrible I’ll look stupid.”

“Then what?”

“People will make fun of me.”

“Then what?”

“I feel ashamed.”

“OK, so you’re not writing your book in order to protect yourself from feeling stupid and ashamed. Now flip it; how stupid and ashamed will you feel if you don’t write your book?”

I think you can see where this is going. Stupid and ashamed are linked arm and arm with either outcome. But which one’s worse?

Not doing it and loathing in regret and failure, or doing it and giving it your best shot, and perhaps finding out it doesn’t actually suck and people love it and they’re so grateful for you for changing their lives.

Choose your own ending.

I leave you with this: Which one of your fears could you feed a suck-it sandwich?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, inspirational storyteller, and live your dream life coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

