one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Your Life is Your Message

www.motivationgrid.com

This comes up all the time in conversation with my clients, especially those seeking their passion or purpose. Elizabeth Gilbert often talks about being one of those rare freaks who knew from very young what she wanted to be when she grew up. I, on the other hand, tortured myself with that question.

And just like that annoying platitude about dating: “You will only find your true love when you stop looking”, I found stressing over my life’s calling to be just as annoying and filled with cliches.

It was only hundreds of books later when I started to get the message. Live as if. Not in a pretend, fairy tale kinda way, but in a way that is authentic to you.

I’d think: If I had my ideal job I’d be kinder and smile more, and finally get out of this funk. I’d feel more alive and on purpose, giving my gifts to the world.

Turns out, I could do all those things now.

I began to find meaning in smaller moments and started to realize it mattered less what my calling was; I was, in fact, living in service. And isn’t that what it’s all about anyway?

As it does, all those tiny little moments formed a path. The most over-the-river-and-through-the-woods path possible, but a path nonetheless. A path to writing more, a path to poetry and the stage, a path to teaching again, and coaching, a path to speaking, and finally a path to living my message.

I couldn’t feel more fulfilled as I do each day encouraging others to find their voice and heed their calling.

Lesson heard loud and clear: we’re not in search of a message, we are the message. What are you communicating to the world?

I leave you with this: What did you want to be when you grew up?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, inspirational storyteller, and live your dream life coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

