one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Your Mission Statement

www.sevenquotes.com

Brendon Burchard’s Motivation Manifesto got me thinking about this idea of a mission statement, and then I read this article in Elephant Journal today on creating a purpose statement (excerpt below). With everything I read in personal development about gaining clarity, I thought this was a great activity for us. Thank you to Nick Kowalski for the idea.

Exercise 1:

1. List 15 characteristics of your self.

I like what Nick says here: don’t judge. Just write. What do people compliment you on? What do people ask you to do for them: “you’re so good at …”? Also, what have people told you to do less of? Are you a worrier? Well that may seem like a downer in social situations, but thinker/planner/strategist may be boss in some realms. Write it down!

2. Circle your five favorite personality traits.

Let intuition be your guide here. Nick says, and I agree, do this quick. Don’t think too much. “What comes most naturally?”

Exercise 2:

1. How do you enjoy expressing your unique personality traits into real world action?

I love this: Referencing your personality traits loosely, make a list of 15 actions and behaviors that express these traits enjoyably. For example, I am naturally witty and one of my favorite ways to express this is by making social media posts that add some comedic relief to the day. As you can see, this isn’t some momentous personality trait and I’m not saving the world—I am expressing myself fully and boldly. Maybe you like to cook, sing, walk in nature, dance, do yoga, dress a certain way, collect art, listen inventively or help with the dishes. There is no such thing as an insignificant expression. I bet I could go online and find a woman killing it knitting socks for llamas.

2. Next, pick your five favorite expressions and circle them.

Which in this list makes you feel most alive, most on purpose, no matter how silly or stupid they seem? Circle them!

Exercise 3:

Write a short statement—just a few sentences or so—of your vision of an ideal world. “My ideal world is one in which…”

Write the vision in present tense and in terms of how you want it to be rather than how you want it not to be. While existences is out of our control, the world is our perception, we’re in control if it, were constantly creating it.

“We don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are.” -Anais Nin

Exercise 4:

Put it all together.

On a blank sheet of paper write: “The purpose of my life is to use my… (insert your five favorite personality characteristics) by (insert your five favorite behaviors) to bring about a world in which (fill in your ideal world statement).

Congratulations, you’re the creator of your life!

Remember, this is just a good draft of your life purpose and can change over the course of your life. As you grow rich in experience your purpose will refine. When significant moments occur in your life: new careers, friends, finding your soul mate, falling in love, etc, go back and edit, refine, or redo it completely. Carry your statement with you and make it your personal mission to live each moment on purpose, courageously and proudly.

Right on!

I’m doing mine tonight!

I leave you with this: Clarity, clarity, clarity. What’s your mission?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, inspirational storyteller, and live your dream life coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

2 Responses to “Your Mission Statement”

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS