one woman's quest to live the life she's imagined all while daring you to do the same

Aint NO Fool! This is Genius

As an entrepreneur, I run into people far more successful than me all the time: high school drop outs, college drop outs, life (at least for a time) drop outs. I think drop out here though is clearly a misnomer. Evidently they knew more than most of us, in their creativity, innovation, business development, etc.

I studied a little bit in school, but mostly just sat near the right people. Rather than follow some of my artistic talents in college, I got shuffled into the “you better get a real job” track.

I took a ton of psych and sociology classes, but decided the “real work” was in marketing, PR, advertising … even though my preference was writing/journalism.

Needless to say, I spent a long time learning what I didn’t want. Not that I have any regrets, except if you count the $45,000 price tag for that hella-epic party I’m still paying off over a decade later.

I love this new push for a gap year/serve a year that Chelsea Clinton is all over. I really could have used an experience like this when I was 18. Hell, I could use it now;) So cool!

The moral of the story is, it ain’t your mama’s life track no mo’. We need to be more creative in the way we educate our students and more open to the different pathways to success.

I’m not saying kids shouldn’t have to eat their peas and learn their times tables, but we could cut a lot of crap and raise far more intuitive thinkers.

I leave you with this: If you could do it all over again, what would you major in?

#Onward

Much Love,

kat

Kat Hurley is a transformational author, inspirational storyteller, and live your dream life coach, making over motivation @The Year of Magical Dreaming. For the full 411, visit kathurley.com, yo!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

